Arts & Entertainment

What to read next

Info Guru, Catalogs.com

Rate This Article:

9
3.4 / 5.0
person reading a book
Base your book decision on what you're interested in
  • Share
  • Tweet

Use these tips to decide what to read next among the boundless options

There's a real sense of accomplishment when you finish a book. Closing the cover on your book is almost like closing a chapter in your life, and now that it's done, it's time to move on. But you might wonder what to read next. Picking out a novel to become absorbed in is a little tricky.

However, when you follow a few simple tips, you can select a book that you're sure to love.

Choose By Author

If there's an author that you absolutely love, you might want to read his or her other books next. If you like one or two books this person wrote, there's a good chance you'd like the other novels this person has written. Finding interesting books in this way is fairly simple and almost always a success.

Choose By Subject


Is there a particular subject you like to read about? Perhaps there's a time period that tickles your fancy. Whatever your interests, choosing a book based on the subject is a good way to go. If you think about it, you're almost guaranteed to be interested in the book, because it's about something that already appeals to you. And you might learn something new about your interest that you didn't know before, so not only is the book enjoyable, but it's educational, too, which is always a bonus.

Choose By Genre

Are you a mystery fan? Or maybe historical fiction is your favorite. Maybe you are a collector of science fiction classics. Choosing what to read next based on the genre is also a good way to select your next book. There's a high chance you'll like the book since it is in a subject you are already fond of. Plus, you might end up finding a new favorite author choosing your next book this way.




Read a Few Pages

Sometimes the best books are those that grab your attention right away. Reading the first page or two of a book is a good indicator of just how interesting the novel is. If the words don't grab you right away, it may not be the next book to sink your teeth into. However, if you are totally taken by the story, there's an excellent chance you're going to love this book and should take it home with you.

Read the Blurb

A book often has a little blurb about it on the back or inside covers. This blurb typically tells about the story and the characters. You can usually get a pretty good idea of whether or not you'll like the book by this little synopsis. If the blurb sounds uninteresting, it's probably a safe bet you'll think the book is not too exciting, as well.

Ask a Friend

If you have a bookworm friend, you could as him or her what to read next. If you typically have the same tastes in books, there's a good chance you will like what is recommended. If not, you should still take a chance or at least do some research on the suggestion. You never know, you might be surprised and actually like the book. Getting suggestions helps you learn about new authors and subjects you might never had otherwise.

Read Reviews

Although you can't always trust a review, reading one can offer you insight into the quality of a book. Also, checking out lists that offer popular books can sometimes tell you what good books are out there. Asking a librarian what novels are popular at your local library may also lead you to your next great book.

Picking out a good book is often a challenge when you don't know what you are looking for. However, when you use your booksmarts to help you find your next read, you're almost sure to find a good one.

Resources:

Read At The Library: Choosing a Good Read!

Overstock.com: How to Choose a Computer Book


Rate this Article

Click on the stars below to rate this article from 1 to 5

  • Share
  • Tweet